Body Positivity & Self Love

Frank Flannagan: Everything about you is perfect.

Ariane Chavasse: I’m too thin! And my ears stick out, and my teeth are crooked and my neck’s much too long.

Frank Flannagan: Maybe so, but I love the way it all hangs together.

This year I turned thirty and after twenty five years of body hating (yes…my mum & gran started commenting on my weight when I was barely five….I should also note I was a stick figure until puberty) I had enough. It also coincided with me starting to get my health back after two years that was spent bedridden. In getting back my health I was amazed now at everything my body could do. I went from not being able to walk any further than my bathroom to running 5km three times a week. As soon as I started being grateful for the amazing body I had things started changing. I started running when I was just under 100kgs and with that all my preconceived notions about my body went out the window. As my mindset changed so did years of binge eating. I wanted to nurture the amazing body I had and love it. In accepting myself just the way I was I went on to finally get off the diet carousel I had been on since puberty.

So from the very start of this blog I want to make a commitment to myself and the internet that this blog will be body positive (there will be no body shaming going on here…whatever the size) and I will continue loving my body and myself.

Even the most stunning Audrey Hepburn thought she had her flaws, but as the divinely sexy Gary Cooper points out he “loves the way it all hangs together”.

Miss Fairchild

This entry was posted in Beauty, Charm, Health and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Body Positivity & Self Love

  1. Janey says:

    I love this attitude you are taking – loving oneself regardless of size. That is what I am trying to accept. Like you, I had an eating disorder. I battled anorexia for a number of years, and while I would say I am recovered in the sense I am no longer starving myself or counting calories, I am still a ways from the full metal recovery. I look forward to reading your blog!!

    xoxo
    -Janey

    • Hi Janey. It is so hard when we are constantly bombarded with images of people that don’t really exist (photoshopped beyond recognition) along with everything from underwear to suck us in and diet pills to make us thinner and wrinkle creams to make us look younger…no wonder so many of us have learned to loathe our bodies. But something I discovered was there is no way hating your body leads to looking after it. I spent years hating myself and not taking care of my body. As soon as my health started picking up and I started nurturing and loving my body it became suddenly so much easier to choose yummy, nutritious, fresh food over processed gunk. I wanted to go out for a walk in the fresh air (and then later run) as I felt so good afterwards. It’s such a tough road from an eating disorder (my issue was always comfort & binge eating). Here’s hoping recovery keeps on getting easier for you everyday!

      ps. Thanks so much for the comment…my first on this new blogging adventure & it means so much!

Leave a Reply

