Glorify Yourself – Introduction

“You may never wish for a film star’s million fans, but you do want to be the leading lady to one man. You want to be happy through making him happy. “

For me, at least, I am glad times have changed. While I am married I in no way want to be happy by making him happy. I have always been fiercely independent. You, readers, might be single and have no intention of trying to hook a man. You could also be interested in the same sex. For my own sanity I am going to read this course replacing the man part with myself. I want to do this for myself. I want to be happy by making myself happy…if that makes any sense.

The introduction moves on to talking about Hollywood stars who seem to appear overnight, transformed. When the reality is they put in a lot of work prior to being discovered overnight. Even after that before they hit the red carpet they are primped and preened and even surgically altered. There is no fairy godmother at work here.

“Here, then,  is your challenge. If Hollywood can take a photogenic girl who speaks no English and groom her for her first staffing role in three months, then by mastering the same techniques, why can’t you prepare yourself for you role in private life in twelve months?”

Ms Eleanore King then goes on to talk about her work as a studio coach and how practice makes perfect. That you keep trying until it all clicks.

“You incorporate only radiant facial expressions until they become yours. You practice tactful, gracious conversation until any other would be foreign to you.”

Then we get to the meat of it all…the reason I am on this journey to become the best person I can possibly be. Even though I know it seems frivolous and even silly to some people around me…

“Are you discourage, hurt? Are you on the wrong track? Build anew! Start afresh. You can be what you want to be. You can be his leading lady by mastering those skills and techniques that underlie the qualities which gracious, charming women possess.”

Mind you that last paragraph does remind me a lot of some infomercial (and we will just ignore the fact that I don’t own a credit card specifically because I believe every informecial product to be of vital importance to my life) but it matched up so nicely with what I am feeling. All I need to do now is practice, practice, practice.

Stay tuned: Next Monday we move on to Lesson 1 – Facial Radiance

Miss Fairchild

This entry was posted in Charm and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Glorify Yourself – Introduction

  1. Pingback: Welcome to 2015 | Miss Fairchild's Charm School

Leave a Reply

