Versatile Blogger Award

Another award! This one is from the lovely VixilerueI am so honoured. My little blog is barely beginning and I have had so much support. Thank you so much to everyone. While I have been away I have also been buying up some vintage beauty & charm books – so stay tuned for those! Now on to the “Versatile Blogger Award”

Versatile Blogger Award

The rules of this one is to reveal 7 interesting facts about myself and pass the award on to 15 bloggers (who then do the same). Here we go…

Seven (hopefully) Interesting Facts About Me

  1. I was fired from a movie set when I was 4. I threw a tantrum as I HATED performing. My Grandmother was pretty insistent – battle of the wills commenced and I won and was promptly fired.  (THIS is the movie if you are interested, My grandmother played the Grandmother Bet. If you click on her name you will see she also was in a few Aussie shows – including Heartbreak High)
  2. I have never met either of my grandfathers. My dads father died when he was just a year old and my mums dad took off when she was 4. I grew up with amazingly strong women instead.
  3. I have never taken any illegal drugs or smoked a cigarette. My parents were perfect examples about how those things can totally mess people up. Though this may actually be filed under “boring facts about me”
  4. I moved out of home at 15 and put myself through school.
  5. By the time I was 23 I was running my own business and had started a charity (which is now a national not for profit – though I am now “retired”).
  6. I was in love with Fred Astaire as a teen and dreamed of marrying him, even though he was long dead by then.
  7.  Three years ago I had a completely physical and nervous breakdown (from working myself near to death). I spent three months in hospital. I am still recovering and it is unlikely I will ever be able to work again. Blogging is something that I can do when I can’t do anything else and I love it, and my blogger friends.

My Nominations…(click on names to go to their blog – also I am taking this chance to nominate non vintage blogs that I love)

Wire 9 Vintage

Nora Finds

Sylvie’s Fashion Secrets

Bess Georgette

Sailing Over A Cardboard Sea

Ephant Reviews Things

Me & Mr. Oliver

Polkadot Pearls

Mrs. Sabatical

Fun With Vintage

Natalie1day

Princess Pin Curls 

Draped in Cloudlets

Ruby Amoire

Vintage Suburbia

Now for a quick disclaimer. While I personally love these awards. I love learning more about other bloggers, I love seeing it “paid forward” and I love discovering new blogs this way. BUT I in no way expect anyone  “nominated” to post. I don’t want anyone feeling guilty because they can’t find 15 blogs or because they just can’t find the time. We all have lives outside of blogging.

Please feel free to suggest new blogs for me to follow in the comments. I love you all and would have sat here all night nominating you all.

Miss Fairchild

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Versatile Blogger Award

  1. Teresa says:

    Wow! Such interesting facts about you! Your grandmother sounds like an amazing lady and a wonderful role model for you. You’ve done amazing things and been through so much. You’re an inspiration.

  2. ephant says:

    Aw thanks for the nomination! And I thought your facts were very interesting 😀

  3. Thanks again! (Other thanks is on the lounge…) I will respond on my blog Thursday. Now… Off to read 15 new blogs 😉

  4. What an intimate and highly interesting array of facts about you, dear lady. Though I almost never talk about this point publicly, I will confide in you that I too moved out at a very young age (16) and put myself through school, while working full time, too.

    ♥ Jessica

    • I tend to be a bit of an open book – though I admit it comes with some downsides. (((hugs))) nice to know someone gets it (even though in reality I wish no one had to go through it). Thanks for sharing!

  5. Thank you so much for the nomination. You were both very courageous and open to share all those details. Sometimes it’s the hardships in life that make us the ‘sucessful’people we are…by sucessful I don’t mean it in the typical sense. I mean that we survived our childhoods and became strong, happy, hardworking people who are both interested and interesting. We are probably all the more stronger, bolder, safer and reserved for the experiences…a paradox. Take it easy and I must say I’m enjoying your blog emmensely. xx

    • You are more than welcome! Thank you hun, I certainly feel like I have won the “success” lottery. I may be broke & sick – but I have amazingly awesome & healthy kids, a roof over our heads and more hats than anyone could possibly need! Thank you again for the sweet comments.

  6. Aaaawww, thank you so much for the nomination, I am a bit gushy, it means a great deal. Wow, the power of online that you get to meet so many amazing people.
    I loved reading your Q&A and what an brilliant story, a true inspiration for your kids – emily xx

  7. Thank you so much for the nomination! I’ll write a post of my own soon!

  8. Abby says:

    Thankyou for sharing about yourself…Its nice to see such honesty and truth 🙂

Leave a Reply

