My Secret Weapon!

For years I cursed my thick, wavy hair. I hated that it frizzed. I hated that I couldn’t straighten it properly. I wanted to have beautiful straight and glossy hair. Instead it stayed in a pony tail as it was just too hard. Then I started getting interested in vintage hair styling, particularly wet set pin curls and all of a sudden I realised my hair had just been waiting for me to figure “it” out. You see my hair that I loathed for so long will hold curl for days. If I don’t put any products on top of it, it will even stay clean enough for me to get 4-5 days wear out of it. So when others say they are too lazy too pin curl, I laugh. For me 10 minutes every 5 days is perfect for my lazy self.

Miss Fairchild - Sydney Day 1

 

Tuesday Morning on my way to Sydney

But I do have a (not so) secret weapon in my arsenal. I use a setting lotion. I am not sure why it’s called lotion as it is definitely more of a liquid. I know lots of vintage loving girls from the states use “lottabody”, but as I haven’t seen it here I have been using “Wavol Setting Lotion” which is an Australian brand that has been around since 1946 and they are still manufactured in Australia.

Wavol Setting Lotion

 

I bought mine HERE from Direct Hair & Beauty. I have to admit I went overboard and bought a whole 5L…but it was only $17 and postage wasn’t that much either. As I was going through the 250ml bottle I had very quickly I thought this would be more economical. It is…but I maybe should have just gotten the 1L bottle HERE.

As I use a wet set on my hair (I pin curl my hair while still damp after washing and let it dry overnight) I don’t need to saturate my hair with this. I just spritz through all my hair and brush it through. It feels a little crispy when I first take out the pin curls, but as soon as I run a brush through it goes back to feeling like regular hair. If you find it is too strong you could mix with some water like a lot of the ladies do with “lottabody”.

Miss Fairchild - Pincurls day 6

 

Sunday Afternoon – After travelling, brushing out every day and LOTS of humidity 

So lovelies…what is your secret weapon?

Miss Fairchild xoxo

This entry was posted in Beauty and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to My Secret Weapon!

  1. BENSON says:

    Try No-Poo for great hair… I just posted about it on my blog 🙂

    • Thanks lovely – I did try it for awhile, but it didn’t work out for my hair. Now I use a natural (free from everything horrible) shampoo once a week and coconut oil to condition (plus an apple cider vinegar rinse).

  2. Teresa says:

    I’ve had a love/hate relationship with my hair over the years. Like yourself, my hair can get frizzy and tends to kink in all the wrong places (especially when it’s humid). I ended up chopping my hair short (like it is today) about 15 years ago and with some persistent ‘training’ I think I’m happy with how it is now. Although I still avoid humidity because it makes my fringe do strange things! 😉

    I love your curls!

  3. Love what you are doing with your hair!

  4. Hello beautiful lady, you are flat out blessed to have hair that will hold a curl so well for so many days. Pre-wig, I counted myself lucky if I could stretch a curl set (always wet set, no matter the type of curl) in my bone straight, ultra fine hair for two days and jumped for joy on the rare occasion a third one was possible. It’s downright awesome that you can often get five days out of your sets.

    ♥ Jessica

  5. Carol says:

    I love your hair do! Thank you for sharing the details of where you get your setting lotion. I was wondering how long you had to wait for the Wavol Setting lotion to be shipped? Did you have any problems dealing with directhairandbeauty.com.au?

  6. bexthefemme says:

    Oooh I love Wavol! I’m currently trying the Lindy Charm School’s setting lotion, but they’re so similar that I’m going back to Wavol 🙂

  7. Carol says:

    I ended up purchasing the Wavol. It arrived in a couple of days. Just in time too as I have nearly finished my LCS Setting Lotion. Thank you for the suggestion for directhairandbeauty.com.au

  8. Mel says:

    Ooh I just ended up purchasing ‘lottabody’ online but think I might be getting some of this too! Thanks for the tip! (P.s, I’m ridiculously jealous of your hair! So glad you learnt to love it Xx)

    • You are so welcome. I haven’t tried lottabody, but I have heard good things about it. Awww. Thanks so much. My hair can be fabulous when it wants to be, but today I am channelling Yahoo Serious.

Leave a Reply

