Eating For Beauty

Secrets of Poise, Personality and Model Beauty

“VITAMINS ARE NATURE’S OWN COSMETICS. These unseen ingredients  in our foods provide special beauty values. Vitamins are the refreshing agents for the skin. They keep it fresh and youthful, firm and fine-textured. They aid the growth of cells so that old tissues can be replaced by new cells. They help heal away blemishes. They prevent the dry cracking at the corners of the mouth. 

Vitamins keep the eyes clear ad sparkling. They keep the blood (nature’s rouge) rich and red. The keep teeth strong and beautiful. 

Besides these visual benefits, vitamins aid the digestion, keep the nerves steady and firm, build strong bones, keep you looking younger and living longer. “

–  by John Robert Powers

While I do get a good laugh at some of the advice given in some of my old books, some of it is definitely not a great idea (like Veronica Dengel’s advice in Personality Unlimited: The Blue book…where she prescribes lots and lots of douching while menstruating) some of it is bang on.

When I eat like crap I can see it. I get dark circles. My skin seems almost grey. My eyes are dull. Not to mention I feel terrible. One of the things I used to find hard was actually hitting my recommended target intake of veges. Did you know a serving of Vegetables is one 1/2 cup and a serve of salad vegetables is a cup? So if you are going to meet you 2 & 5 each day you need to eat 2.5 cups of veges or 5 cups of salad! I can’t find the article now, but it is actually advised now to eat 9 servings of fruit and vege a day. Now I am more than happy to sit down to 5 cups of salad for lunch or 2.5 cups of vege for dinner, but it isn’t always practical.

Charm School:Advice for the Thoroughly Modern Girl

Comic Excerpt from “Charm School: Advice for the Thoroughly Modern Girl” (originally published by DC in “The New Colour Weekly for Every Girl” in the 50s.

While I was really unwell and had trouble eating certain things I was introduced to green smoothies. At first I couldn’t believe that my friend was trying to convince me they taste good. But once I gave it a go I was hooked.

Basically a green smoothie is a smoothie – with greens in it. That’s it. I prefer my smoothies without any milk/milk substitutes as I am weird. I like mine raw and fresh, almost like a juice. But unlike juicing you get all to have all the fibre of the fruit/vege as well.

To start out I really, really recommend using baby spinach as your green. It has almost no flavour when blended up with other things. Give it a try – just add a handful of baby spinach to a banana smoothie. You won’t even taste it. You can then build up to a higher ratio of greens in your smoothie and less fruit.

If you think I am off my rocker, remember Dita Von Teese likes to start her day with a Glowing Green Smoothie from Kimberly Snyder’s book. You can see the recipe on her facebook page HERE (just scroll down through the comments) but I will also post it here for you.

Dita Von Teese

Check out that skin! If it’s good enough for Dita, it’s certainly good enough for me!

Glowing Green Smoothie

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups water
  • 1 head organic romaine lettuce, chopped1
  • /2 of large bunch of organic spinach (or 3/4 of small bunch)
  • 3-4 stalks organic celery
  • 1 oraganic apple, cored and chopped
  • 1 organic pear, cored and chopped
  • 1 organic banana
  • Juice of 1/2 organic lemon

Optional: 1/3 bunch organic cilantro (stems okay), 1/3 bunch organic parsley (stems okay)

Directions:

  1. Add the water and chopped head of romaine and spinach to the blender.
  2. Starting the blender on a low speed, mix until smooth.
  3. Gradually moving to higher speeds, add the celery, apple, and pear.
  4. Add the cilantro and parsley if you choose. Fresh herbs, like cilantro and parsley, have cleansing properties that help extract heavy metals and other toxins from the body.
  5. Add the banana and lemon juice last.

This recipe produces about 60 ounces. Kimberly recommends that a woman drink about 16-25 ounces every morning. You can store the rest of the liquid for a day or portion it out and freeze.

Green Smoothie

Here’s one I prepared earlier…

I really like to add some LSA meal (linseed, sunflower & almond) to my smoothies for some extra goodness (protein, omega-3 fats as well as some great vitamins and minerals). I also really like to steep some organic green tea over night and use that in place of water to give me some extra goodness. I am all about efficiency. I want the most nutrients in the quickest/easiest way.

What do you think ladies? Game to give it a try?

Miss Fairchild xoxo

This entry was posted in Health and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Eating For Beauty

  1. Teresa says:

    I don’t know what it is about smoothies. I know I’ll love them but I never get around to making them! I’ll have to try this recipe. 🙂

    • I could live on smoothies. The kids love them too and are quite happy with me adding baby spinach to theirs as it doesn’t taste any different and they love that it turns green LOL. I also make green potato & leek soup. Same thing – just add a bunch of baby spinach and blend. A great way to get extra greens in your diet.

  2. Jennifer says:

    I used to make green smoothies all the time, I should really get back into it! That recipe looks fantastic.

  3. YUM!!! That smoothie sounds delicious!! I freeze my bananas before putting them into my smoothies because they get super cold and it’s almost like ice cream 🙂

  4. Seriously scrumptious! There’s just such a rush of natural, help-you-make-it-through-the-day energy that comes from starting the day off on a healthy, vitamin packed punch like this.

    ♥ Jessica

  5. Harlow says:

    Ahhh I think this post is the wakeup call I’ve been needing this week! I kind of fell off the wagon a few days ago and got KFC, then had pancakes….ice cream…lots of sugary sweets….no wonder I feel like crap today! I think Vitamins are a good idea, I’m going to have a look at getting some to take every day. For some reason making smoothies never works out for me, but lately I’ve started drinking Charlies Green Spirulina smoothies that you can buy already made. Have you tried those before? They are my lazy alternative to green smoothies 😛

    • Hey lovely! I have to admit as I am fussy I rarely buy any pre mixed drinks as I want it just the way I want it LOL. Plus hubby will make them for me…so it is no more effort on my behalf LOL.

Leave a Reply

