Truly Vintage & Mothers Day

I was so nervous about the Truly Vintage Day put on by Trish Hunter of Trish Hunter Finds and Marianne of Esme & The Laneway….but I ended up having such a great day. I was really worried I would either chicken out and not show up (which became a lot less easy once it was announced on their blogs I would be attending LOL) or not fit in at all and spend the time sitting alone in the corner. I am very pleased to say that neither happened.

I had to leave home at 8:30am (thanks to living in the middle of nowhere) and I knew it was going to be a long day as it was a rare day where both hubby & I needed to be somewhere…and we couldn’t leave the kids alone all day. So hubby dropped them off at my brothers (I had also forgotten it was his 20th birthday…whoops! But he didn’t mind) and I had to pick them up. I didn’t end up getting home til almost 7:30 and I had very tired and cranky kidlets on my hands by that point. BUT it was so worth it.

Truly Vintage - Trish & Marianne

Our hosts – Trish & Marianne

I arrived at around 10:30 (it opened to the public at 11am) and I have to admit I felt a bit daft with my few bits and pieces to sell, compared to the racks and racks of stunning items out from the other lovely ladies….but everyone was just so nice. I was so thrilled to see Teresa (from Bess Georgette) when I got there as I hadn’t actually met any of the other ladies in person. Having her smile and say hi then give me a welcoming hug really helped calmed the raging anxiety that was going on inside me.

Truly Vintage - Teresa

The lovely Teresa with Trish’s Dog Betty (who totally stole the show all day!)

After meeting everyone I was able to have a peek around at the goodies for sale. I really wish I had more money to spend. But I came home with a few goodies after selling some of my own things and making some money.

Truly Vintage - Jacinta & Trish

Everybody loves Betty – Jacinta from Betty & Ginger Boutique & Trish with Betty

I spent the rest of the day chatting with just about everyone. They were all so lovely. I also loved that the people who came chatted with us all. It wasn’t a shop experience so much as a whole bunch of friends hanging out and swapping and selling their goodies. I talked for quite some time with some gorgeous ladies who I hope find the blog and get in touch – I really loved meeting you.

Truly Vintage - Betty

How fabulous does Betty look in her Scarf?!?! So adorable…I just wanted to take her home

As well as chatting I got to eat some delicious things, play with Betty, chomp on a baby boys toes (I kid you not….mum was all “go for it” so I did! Babiessssssssssssssssssss NOMNOMNOM!!!!!), sell a few things and buy myself a few goodies.

Truly Vintage

Back – Jacinta, Claire, Teresa, Me, Eszter & Kirtsy 

Front – Trish & Marianne

Of all the people I met that day I think I was most excited to meet Clara Cupcakes (whose really name is Elly!) who is a burlesque performer. She was funny and adorable. I just loved her and I am a huge fan of burlesque…especially acts like hers who actually seem to understand what burlesque really is (I am a total snob aren’t I?). I also really want her shorts. Super high waisted plaid adorablness!

Truly Vintage

Marianne,  Teresa, Me, Elly (Clara Cupcakes) and Trish

Just as I was about to leave the stunning Candice from Super Kawaii Mama arrived and I found myself deep in conversation (and ended up leaving an hour late….sorry little brother!). It seems we come from very similar families and I was so pleased to see how down to earth and lovely she was. She also recognised me and called me by name (my actual name…not “Sabrina”) which did kind of knock me for six. It’s like having some celebrity (I sat here for a good 5 minutes trying to name a celebrity before giving up) walk up and know you. It was awesome. While I am sure she was just being polite, she said she would love to see my vintage charm book collection some day which totally made my day. I mean I love my books…but I never actually expected this blog or my books to be someone elses thing.

Truly Vintage - Candice - Super Kawaii Mama

 

Candice looking every bit the pin up and me looking stoned (which is better than the other shot which I managed to look stoned and like I was about to eat Candice!)

I really did have an amazing day and still can’t believe that not only was everyone so nice, but they acted as if I belonged there. It is not something I am used to at all. I am a bit of an oddball, have a tendency to talk really loud about inappropriate things and am incredibly socially awkward. I also have to say I also really appreciated no one talking down to me because I am fat. I know that probably sounds really weird…but I am used to either being abused for my size or coddled for it (“oh you’re not fat…your just curvy” that sort of stuff). I know fat is a dirty word to some but I just see it as a body size. Talking to Jacinta about some stockings and she said I would need to go a large and it was just her actually sizing me (which I appreciate ..I really don’t need anyone to pretend I am a waif and end up with clothes that don’t fit). Again it sounds weird…but it was just a delightful experience all round.

Truly Vintage

Adorable glasses brooch I purchased from Trish

In the end I offloaded a navy bag to Jacinta and some other bits and pieces which gave me enough money to buy an adorable chocolate coloured hat from Claire and a cute pink bedroom jacket from Teresa. I came home with even more resolve to clear out all the clothes I don’t love and while my ebay sale just finished up I am going to list some more pieces this week.

The next day I slept in til almost midday (after going incredibly loopy on my sleeping pills/empty stomach idiocy). When I finally woke up I was showered with awesome presents and tea and porridge in bed.

Mother's Day

best card ever. It hangs on the door and inside it says…

Mother's Day

I hung it on the door…but it was ignored. Yup, that’s life as a mum. 

Mother's Day

Heart Paper Chain, Bead/Ribbon Person, Lego Heart necklance, paper stuffed heart, stationary & a massage voucher

Mother's Day

Close up of my awesome lego heart necklace made for me by Miss H

Mother's Day

Miss 13 bought home macarons for me from her cooking class. So good!

Mother's Day

A notebook made for me by Miss H…we don’t have a colour printer so she coloured in my hair and glasses…..but I find my blue eyes really creepy (especially as I don’t really have blue eyes)

As well as getting beautiful flowers (I adore a good bunch of white flowers, they just seem so chic) Miss 13 grabbed some of my last bunch of flowers and whipped me up a gorgeous teapot arrangement.

Mother's Day

Floral Arrangement put together by Miss 13

After presents we got on to the more serious part of the day with the most awesome epic cake there ever was….

Mother's Day

3 layers of awesomeness…but the real surprise was inside….

Mother's Day

POLKA DOT CAKE!!!!!!!!!!

So yeah, my weekend was awesome. How was yours?

Miss Fairchild xoxo

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Truly Vintage & Mothers Day

  1. I’m thrilled that you had a great time, dear gal! I really like that more vintage events around the world are gradually starting to focus on genuine, pre-1960s vintage (again) – for those of us who prefer mid-century garments it really is wonderful to not have to sort through scads of 1960s-90s garments to find the 30s-50s treasures we’re after.

    That cake is awesome! What a wonderfully yummy, creative way to help celebrate Mother’s Day.

    ♥ Jessica

    • I know! It was such an awesome day. One lady had not one, but two BEAUTIFUL Lilli Ann Suits there. I mean the skirt wouldn’t have even fitted one of my legs…but soooooo gorgeous!

      The cake was pretty awesome. Of course it looked different each time I cut it. I think I had more fun cutting it than eating it. Definitely going to make polka dot cakes more often.

  2. Teresa says:

    I’m so glad you didn’t chicken out and came on Saturday. I had an amazing time and having your familiar face also helped calm my nerves! 🙂 Although… what is with that face I’m pulling in the photograph with Betty?! LOL

    Your Mother’s Day looks perfect and the cake looks amazing!
    xo

  3. nessbow says:

    Oh my gosh, that cake is incredible! You have the sweetest little family, and it looks like they spoiled you rotten!

    It was so lovely to meet you. I had such a lovely time chatting with you.

  4. Kim Campbell says:

    Sounds like you had an amazing time!!!! Neat=o mom’s day gift and that cake!!! Awesome! I bet it tasted as good as it looked!

    I find it is hard to go sometimes, but then when I get there, I am glad I went!

    • I really did. The cake is so awesome. I had so much fun cutting into it and seeing the different spots appear. I think that was way more fun than eating it (though it was tasty). I am so glad I went 🙂

  5. I SO WISH I lived in Melbs. You have no idea – meeting all you lovely ladies would be amazing!! It looks like you had so much fun! And what an awesome cake too by the way – I would almost not want to eat it!

  6. I’m glad you had such a wonderful day! I saw the event advertised but didn’t really understand the whole idea behind it…looked like lots of fun. Your cake is truly impressive- Happy belated Mother’s Day! Xxxx

  7. Lau says:

    WOW that cake is fantastic!! Can we have the recipe, pretty please?! You are of course raising perfect (and very loving) ladies, judging from the baking and all the totally adorable gifts!!
    Sounds like you had a wonderful weekend indeed, I am so happy for you! That glasses brooch is truly adorable and I absolutely love your dress! As influenced by the research I am doing for my blog, I recently started wearing shirtdresses too with contrast coloured belts like yours and I think they are so classy and flattering! They were a real discovery for me!

    • I will definitely post the recipe for you soon! It really was a fabulous day and my girls are the absolute best ever!

      I love shirt dresses (they make up the majority of my wardrobe) and contrast belts are awesome (I matched it with a red bag and a red hat that day!)

  8. Trish says:

    I only just saw this post!! Thanks again for coming, so nice to actually put faces to online faces :):)
    Love your Mothers day celebrations sounds like it was perfect.
    xx

Leave a Reply

