Bathing Beauty

Bubble Bath by Gil Elvgren

 

Bubble Bath Pinup by Gil Elvgren

Is there anything better than a hot bath? I mean…really?

Baths just seem so luxurious to me…especially in this fast paced world (well not my world, I spend 99% of my time in bed) and of course we can’t have them too often as water restrictions are so important here in the land of aus.

I remember being about 13. It was pouring rain and as my mum didn’t drive I had to catch the school bus then walk to my house. I got home and mum had run me a hot bath, had put my cd player in there with my favourite tunes and had a steaming mug of fresh pumpkin soup next to it. It is one of the few memories I have of my mum doing something for me. Hubby now does the same thing when I have been out and it’s been cold or raining or it’s been a crappy day. Coming home to a beautifully drawn bath, some candles, music and a cup of tea (or soup) not only makes you feel special (because someone did that for you), but helps to really relax.

Elizabeth Taylora as Cleopatra

 

Elizabeth Taylor as Cleopatra – the queen of luxurious bathing!

I think everyone has read about Cleopatra’s epic baths in milk. They kept her looking awesome while she ruled the world and mens hearts. Last year I decided I wanted to give milk baths a go and ever since I have been hooked. Here is how I do it…

  1. 2 cups powdered milk (sometimes when our Organic Shultz Raw bath milk (we drink it, it’s just raw milk isn’t allowed to be sold for consumption in Australia…don’t get me started on that one) is just past it’s expiry I will use the last of it in my bath…it’s the best!
  2. 1tbs (or to your liking) of almond or rice bran oil (or what ever you prefer…those are my two favourites)
  3. A few drops of essential oil

Add all into the tub while the water is running, mix and enjoy. If you really feel lush (or have some flowers lying around) throw in some petals. It will honestly make you feel like a million bucks!

Once again Miss Hart gets it right…

“For a luxury bath, allot at least half an hour, more if you can.”

– The Handbook of Beauty

Gather your supplies before you get in. I personally like to light some candles…

Marseille Glasshouse Candle

Marseille (Gardenia Scented) Candle by Glasshouse (bonus – these candles are really easy to clean out of the jar when you are done. I use the big ones for cotton balls, cotton pads & cotton buds and the mini ones are the PERFECT size to hold bobby pins)

A book or a magazine (if you need *something* to do in there besides relax…

Penguin Classics Persuasion by Jane AustenPersuasion has to be one of my all time favourite books ever! I find there is something very relaxing about reading a familiar book, rather than a new one…

And some relaxing tunes…

Ella Fitzgerald Sings Gershwin Record

I personally am a huge Gershwin fan and that is definitely my unwind music!

Little extras that make bathing more enjoyable are …

Bath Caddy

A bath caddy! Look a place for your book/magazine & wine! I personally would not let myself have a candle that close to a book…even with a whole tub  of water I just know I would set fire to the house. Add in alcohol and …. well I am sure it would be bad! (this one was in Aldi at the start of the year)

Bath Pillow

If you haven’t got  a bath pillow – RUN, do not walk, to your nearest bath pillow store and get one. To be honest I have no idea where these would even be sold? It came in a package filled with bath stuff (that I am allergic to) from my mum. Without a doubt the best thing to ever happen to baths, and the best thing my mum has given me in the last decade…the last present I remember from my mum were cheap, synthetic, purple ugg boots covered in multi coloured rhinestones. The best/worst part of it was she talked about this “awesome” present for months in the lead up to Christmas. Who would ever wear them? Also, why did she buy them for me? I won’t even wear socks at home in the dead of winter on tiles. I DO NOT LIKE things on my feet at home….and I never have. Weird and totally off topic – but mum, seriously WTF?

“The net effect will make you feel like Cleopatra; it was this sort of luxury bath, in fact, that helped make her the fatal charmer she was!”

– Constance Hart

I slather on a bunch of my home made green tea cold cream (see recipe HERE) and put some chilled camomile tea bags on my eyes and just let everything relax. The steam seems to help the cold cream really get into my skin and keeping tea bags on my eyes not only helps with puffiness and beautiful clear eyes, but it keeps me from looking around, playing with knobs and generally doing stuff that isn’t relaxing at all.

Of course if a hot bath isn’t your thing why not try Miss Hart’s “Air Bath”…

“For this one, which is excellent for the circulation, you need no equipment whatever. All you need is fresh air! Sometime when you are home alone and the weather permits, take off all your clothes, throw open the windows  and just walk around  nude, for about twenty minutes. We don’t get enough air on our bodies most of the time because we are so covered up. The contact of the air on your skin stimulates the circulation and incites a general over-all feeling of well-being”

If that really is the case my body would be the most circulated and I would have the most amazing “general over-all feeling of well-being”….

How do you take your bath?

Miss Fairchild xoxo

This entry was posted in Beauty, Health and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Bathing Beauty

  1. Teresa says:

    I’m not sure if I’m brave enough for an air bath but I do need to take more regular baths!

  2. Oh this is lovely. I had a bath last night but it was plan and simple. Milk baths from now on.

  3. I swear, I feel more blissed out after having just read this thoroughly terrific post devoted to baths. They’re quite a godsend for me, as I often find showers too painful (I can’t even count the number of times I’ve been bawling my eyes out in the shower because of how much they hurt) and they tend to zap my energy much more than baths do, so they’re my first choice of washing or relaxing in the water. I like to snuggle in with a good book, the kitty on the ledge of the tub (she loves to hang out there while I’m in the bath), and nary a care in the world for 15-30 minutes.

    ♥ Jessica

  4. Pingback: Beautiful Hands – Looking After Yourself | Miss Fairchild's Charm School

Leave a Reply

