100!!! (And a Giveaway)

100.

100 posts. (My first post was November 4th last year HERE)

15 312 views.

768 comments.

Visitors from Slovenia to Viet Nam. From Saudi Arabia to Peru. Mongolia to Kenya.

Friends. Lots of friends.

Finding myself. Getting published in a Magazine (HERE). Finding a fabulous vintage community online, and in Melbourne. Getting out of bed and back into the world.

I have spent the last week thinking about what to write in this post. Looking at my stats (I am a numbers geek) and trying to decide what was important to include in my 100th post. Turns out those numbers are pretty irrelevant. What I have gotten from blogging can’t be measured in numbers. It has nothing to do with page views or comments.

When I started blogging I was lost, lonely and uninspired. I loved vintage, but had spent so much time isolated (since my breakdown 3 years ago) and in bed that I had very few people in my life. I had no where to wear pretty dresses. I had very few people to talk to. I had very little inspiring in my life (beyond my gorgeous daughters of course). I had just gotten my hands on a vintage charm school correspondence course called “Glorify Yourself”, finished reading a novel called “Elegance” and had recently watched “Sabrina” (one of my favourite movies). The combination of these left me inspired to try to carve out a new life for myself. A more glamorous one. I decided I would become a  totally new person and I would blog about it.

Turns out that isn’t how life works. Gradually I let my snarky sarcastic voice back into my blog posts. I became brave enough to post photos of myself in vintage. I realised I didn’t have to pretend to be a pinup and could look grumpy in my photos instead. I went out to tea and cake … A LOT! I got rid of all my non vintage clothes. I started a millinery course.

This blog, and meeting and emailing and chatting to readers, has given me so much. I love each and everyone of you. YOU have made this blog. YOU have given me back some direction and happiness in my life.

So with that in mind I want to give something back to YOU with one epic prize pack to be given away. I will post to any where in the world and to win you just need to comment. I will use a random number generator at the end and select the winner.

PRIZE PACK

Elegance Books

The books that started it all

Miss Fairchild

 

This adorable (well a fresh one without my hairs in it) Burgunday bow hat – because every gal needs a hat!

Not pictured – but definitely included …

Pin curl pack:

  • Setting Lotion
  • Pin Curl Clips
  • Cotton Scarf
  • Dolly Peg
  • Print Outs of my favourite setting patterns from an old hairdressing booklet

Beauty Pack:

  • Revlon “Really Red” Lipstick
  • Ponds Cold Cream
  • Witch Hazel
  • Micro fibre Face Cloths

Plus Miss 12 has added this adorable Novelty  Kitty Brooch for the winner (If you follow me on instagram you will have seen her adorable felt brooch creations).

Kitty Brooch

I will be leaving this open until the Midnight (Australian Eastern Standards time) on Sunday the 11th of August. I will then lock the comments and use a random number generator to select the winner and the winner will be announced by Tuesday the 13th. I will post anywhere in the world. If the winner cannot be contacted by Friday, then I will redraw. Comment below (once only please) to have the chance to win!

Thank you all, again, for everything.

Miss Fairchild xoxo

This entry was posted in Life Lessons and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to 100!!! (And a Giveaway)

  1. Kathryn Phillips says:

    Reading you blog has inspired me to start to wear vintage more and not really care what people think. Thank you for being an inspiration

  2. The Quirky Quaintrelle says:

    Congratulations gorgeous girl! I didn’t realise how new to this you are; you’re such a voice of reason and knowledge. And did I mention inspiring? I don’t think you realise just how much our ‘chats’ have helped. Congrats again and best wishes for the next 100 you fabulous creature xoxox

  3. Brooksie says:

    Thank you so much for being real and loving vintage. I find you very inspiring and it sounds like many others do too! Wow, all I have to say is you have come a long ways baby!!!

  4. Not even a year old! My gosh congrats on such an achievement. And remember glamour isn’t given, it’s made. X

  5. Sheree says:

    Dear Miss Fairchild…I started reading your blog a couple of months ago…am currently in Melbourne so loving reading abut the vintage scene here. Wow I really must to back and read your posts from the beginning as I already found you an inspiration…now I see you are a super inspiration. Good on you for taking hold of your destiny and believing in yourself!!

  6. Congratulations! You are inspiring, and I am so glad to have met you through through blogging. And, by the way, you do look like a pin-up most of the time!
    Oh, and how cute is that kitty?!

  7. Congrats on your 100th post! So exciting! I’ve been a big fan of beauty books, and reading your magazine article and of course your blog have definitely inspired me to strive for more. 🙂

    xx
    The Vintage Cat

  8. This truly heartwarming, boldly honest post brought tears to my eyes, dearest Jess. Thank you for sharing some of the invaluable ways in which vintage and blogging have both changed, enriched, and empowered your life. You an incredible, inspiring, awesome woman – and I cannot wait to read your next hundred posts!

    ♥ Jessica

  9. Congratulations on the big ‘100’. Thank you for your inspiring words and believe it or not – YOU actually inspired me to start my own blog. Keep it up – I have serious hat envy and even though I don’t wear them, every time I see your outfit posts & you are wearing one I do the “Right…that’s it…getting a hat”. Thank you!! Alex

  10. Sesame says:

    What a great, honest post! I’m happy for you that blogging has brought you so much and helped you with your transformation and “back into the world”! I created my website, because I felt lonely, too, and had no one to share my passion for vintage with. After about 2 months of blogging now, I already feel a bit less lonely in my vintage world and have found reasons to attend vintage events (even if on my own) and keep dressing nicely and be a lady every day 🙂 I’ve just discovered your blog, but I’m already looking forward to your next 100 posts! Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us!

    ~ Sesame

  11. Tina C. says:

    I’m new to the vintage stuff and very much so identify with how isolated you once felt. Moving from Upstate NY to Miami, FL seven months ago has been so challenging. It’s hard to make friends here let alone find friends with the same interests. Reading a blog by someone who isn’t (forgive me) seemingly perfect but rather just a normal gal really helps. Your outlook on life and refusal to make excuses for who you are helps more than you know. So here’s to your first 100 posts and here’s to 100 more! Thank you, thank you, thank you!

  12. Congratulations – I am looking forward to reading many more posts from you 🙂

  13. Zaida says:

    Congrats for the 100th mark!!
    And thanks for sharing this – there’s some blogs that I stopped visiting ‘cos they made me feel bad, their lives seemed so easy and happy and yay! I’m glad for the ups in life, but sharing (some of) the downs is what brings people closer, imo. 🙂

  14. Teresa says:

    Congratulations on reaching such a fabulous milestone. I agree so much with your comments about what blogging has brought into your life and I’m glad you blog… because I wouldn’t have met you otherwise! 🙂

  15. Awww, congratulations lovely lady!! I totally know where you are coming from about blogging and the community and friends here. I didn’t know anyone in Sydney when we moved here 3.5years ago, yet through my blog I have met the most amazing friends and I’ve also had the opportunity to meet people when I’ve been travelling abroad.

    Blogging has been an immensely satisfying journey so far and here is to many more years and many more friends near and afar 🙂

    xx
    J

  16. nessbow says:

    Congratulations on your 100th post! Your blog is one of my all-time favourites and I just adore the enthusiasm and honesty that you inject into every post. I feel so lucky to have met you in person and to call you a friend. Congrats.

  17. rachaeles says:

    Congratulations on your wonderful milestone, your 100th post!

  18. Taygan says:

    Congratulations! I’m only a new reader but I already LOVE your blog and I’m looking forward to reading more!! x

  19. Emma says:

    Congratulations on 100 posts! What an amazing achievement and a wonderful blog. It is just so amazing the power that vintage and blogging has to connect us. Looking forward to reading the next 100!

  20. Kim Campbell says:

    Oh my gosh!!! I so want to win, especially the pink kitty brooch. My fave color!! I am so glad I discovered your blog. Your first post was om my birthday!

  21. Congratulations on reaching this milestone. I’m so glad that you have stuck with the blog…and that it has given so much to you in return for all your hard work. I feel the same way about mine. xx Shauna

  22. Well I have the double bonus of knowing you in person and thinking you’re as lovely as your blog 😛 Thanks for helping me with my hat wearing confidence problem!

  23. Bonny says:

    Congratulations! I would love to be entered. I love your blog and all things vintage

  24. Stormy de Wilde says:

    Thank you for sharing your ups & downs…we all get caught up in our own navel gazing, its refreshing to hear & see how another lovely is working through her own challenges with strength & elegance. Love your vintage attitude!

  25. Jennifer says:

    congrats on the 100 posts! i recently found your blog and it is a huge inspiration and gives me so many ideas on how to dress vintage!

  26. Mary Beth says:

    I find your posts very inspiring. I’ve referred to your pin curls posts over and over. Keep up the good work!

Comments are closed.