No Sunday Best…

I just wanted to pop up a quick update as while I have a “Sunday Best” outfit shot, I don’t have the energy to actually upload and edit it.

Miss Fairchild

 

Liptember day 8

Unfortunately I have fallen back into a pit of depression. My doctor warned me it could happen that I will still likely have relapses. It is a bit like an alcoholic – you always have “depression” you are just in recovery. He was right when he said it would seem much, much worse than before, having had almost 2.5 months with no depression (after 19 years of no break from it) that it could hit me hard. He was right.

I am writing about this here because it is Liptember and I want to raise awareness for mental health so rather than just ignoring this blog til I feel better I thought I would let you know what’s happening. It’s hard when all I want to do right now is hide under my doona. I am trying not to let go of everything and let it consume me….but it is exhausting.

Hubby saw it coming. It all started with my tooth. I was on so many pain killers and was so exhausted and sick (I had an abscessed tooth) that I couldn’t do anything. My anxiety became overwhelming as I couldn’t fall back on my usual coping skills (running, eating and doing at least 4-5 things at once to make is so my brain can’t possibly think about being anxious). As the anxiety got worse the depression started creeping back. I stopped getting dressed. I stopped opening my blinds. I just lay there watching stuff on my laptop. While I am almost entirely physically better I am now back to being depressed and all my energy is going into not spiralling downwards any more. With the election and my tooth and then a fight with my brother last night I am just miserable.

But I also wanted to point out something – while lots of stressful upsetting things can lead to someone being depressed, none of these things caused my depression. I am not depressed because Tony Abott is our PM, I am depressed and it is not helping that Tony Abott is our PM (and I feel sick writing that).

Another thing I would love to direct your attention to is “What Not to Say to a Depressed Person” you can read the article HERE by Kate Says Stuff.

Also would love it if you would consider sponsoring the “Vintage Vixens” Liptember team HERE to help fund more research into women’s mental health. For those of you outside of Australia who have had trouble donating I asked the Liptember team and this is their advice….

“they can still donate (leaving the field as Australia), as long at they have a Visa/MasterCard. Then they should email info@liptember.com.au to confirm that their payment has been received 🙂 Hope that helps!”

Ok enough of my crazy rambling. Time to get back to lying around and feeling sorry for myself.

Miss Fairchild xoxo

 

This entry was posted in Health and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to No Sunday Best…

  1. Sesame says:

    A courageous post! You seem to be a person with great character and strong will despite your illness. I would not have been able to write a post like this, I think. It takes the time it takes but you’ll be better eventually.

    I’ve made my donation to Liptember by sponsoring the Vintage Vixens now and it didn’t seem to be a problem even though I’m not located in Australia.

    Don’t loose heart! You’re not alone in this 🙂

    ~ Sesame (aka Jenny B.)

  2. Teresa says:

    HUGS
    xoxo

  3. Helga says:

    O, sweetie, I so wish I could help.
    Thank goodness you are putting it out there, so many have this dreadful affliction. It certainly isn’t anything to be ashamed of, and the world needs to know this.
    Much love and squeezes…….XXX

  4. Carina says:

    I want to wish you the best of luck! You are so brave for writing this post, and I admire you for that.
    Sending lots of love and rays of light your way,
    Carina

  5. deb Clark says:

    Obviously you are not OK, but I am here. I mean it. Although I am far away. I wish I could come an help with the children or the laundry or something.
    Anyway, checking out about Liptember now and will put it on tumblr to spread the word..xxx

  6. So many people don’t understand that for most people mental illness is something you live with your whole life. I think it’s fantastic that you still wrote this despite wanting to hide in your doona! And I love the bit about not being depressed because of certain things but that they exacerbate your depression. It’s so true! *hug*

  7. My sweet friend, thank you for speaking so candidly about some of what you’ve been contending with lately. I have the greatest admiration for you and want you to know that I am always here if you ever want anyone to talk, vent or simply let out a much needed sigh/scream/cry at, 24/7.

    Understanding hugs,
    ♥ Jessica

  8. Now, you better know how awesome I think you are, and this just proves it again. Whenever you want, let’s go Do Stuff 😀

  9. nessbow says:

    Huge, double-armed squashy hugs for you! You’re so fantastic and I am dreadfully sorry that you’re going through this. If there’s anything I can do to help, don’t hesitate to ask. I’ll be thinking of you.

  10. Tiffany says:

    Sorry to hear your having a rough time at the moment. We call it “having serious a flat” at our place…
    Given the circumstances, I’m impressed you managed a post & you even still look pretty glam under your doona 🙂
    Just thought I’d also let you know I really like your blog.
    Best wishes,
    T

Leave a Reply

