It is my birthday.

slightly obscure office reference in the title there…

Miss Fairchild - BabyHey adorable little me….guess what? You survived til 32…AMAZING!

Today I turn 32 and so far I am having a fabulous day. This is odd as I seem to have terrible birthdays. They were not fun growing up and some were downright horrible…

Like when I was 4 and my dad kidnapped us and ran off to Newcastle and I had impetigo (school sores) on my birthday

or

when I was 9 and my mum told me we couldn’t go to water works for my birthday as her friends sons had a cold so we were going to the movies instead (what was that? My birthday is suppose to be for me? Not in my family.

orย 

when I was 13 and was living with my dad and everyone LITERALLY forgot my birthday. Around 3pm my dad finally yelled at me “what the fuck is your problem?!?!?”.

orย 

When I was 15 and everyone literally forgot my birthday AGAIN. I did get a call from my grandmother…but she was just checking in on her cat.

or

when I was 16 and my godmother offered to throw a pool party for me (until that day I literally had no idea I had a godmother…so yeah). I wanted some input on the food and was promptly told by my grandmother that the day was about my godmother and not at all about me.

orย 

when I was 18 (and heavily pregnant) and my mum said if I wanted I could come to the bbq they were throwing for my stepbrothers birthday (the day after mine). Oh and all I got were baby things. Woohoo!

Somewhere along the line, and I can’t possibly imagine why (sarcasm), I became super anxious around my birthday as I just wanted one great birthday. This lead to me yelling at everyone, getting cranky when I didn’t get the gifts I wanted and crying when it seemed everyone would just not remember my birthday. Basically I made it an even shittier day not just for me, but everyone involved.

Last week hubby asked me if I wanted to do anything for my birthday. After thinking long and hard (that’s what she said) about it I told him what I wanted to do. NOTHING.

Today I woke up to a mountain of beautiful handpicked presents from my girls and wonderful cards. I had a cup of tea and some fruit for breakky. I cleaned the kitchen while making a green smoothie. I have gotten lots of lovely messages from friends and in a few minutes I am going to start a home spa afternoon.

I feel like a weight has been lifted off my shoulder and feel like my birthday “curse” is gone. All I had to do was just let it go.

Sunday BestHAPPY BIRTHDAY ME! (this photo again…because my hair is fab!)

What are you going to let go of this year?

Miss Fairchild xoxo

 

This entry was posted in Life Lessons. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to It is my birthday.

  1. Sounds like a good day so far and home spa sounds super sweet ๐Ÿ™‚ many happy returns!

  2. missbonnieblu says:

    Happy Birthday lovely lady!
    I am so sorry for what you’ve been through! You’re such a strong lady for getting to where you are today!
    Hope you have the loveliest, normalist birthday! Xo

  3. Happy birthday chica!! Celeste ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. happy birthday! I am so glad you are having a good one and you look lovely

    retro rover

  5. Happy birthday! Lets hope they are all much better from here on.
    Your hair looks stunning! Absolutely beautiful. Enjoy your day with your gorgeous daughters, and a home spa sounds perfect. Xxx

  6. happy birthday! The best birthdays are definitely the ones when you do exactly what you want

  7. Lisa says:

    Happy Birthday! Have a wonderful day, you deserve it! Enjoy!!

  8. A belated happy birthday to you and many happy returns!

    I’m sorry to hear that you’ve often had a rough time on your birthday before. Doing “nothing” can be such a bliss sometimes! That’s pretty much what I like for my birthdays, too: A break from a busy schedule and time for oneself and with beloved ones. Actually, one should take a day off from everything else more often.

    Take care!

    ~ Sesame

  9. Sylvie says:

    Happy Birthday! I celebrate it today on the 9th. ๐Ÿ™‚ The same day as Kate`s. ๐Ÿ˜€

  10. happy belated birthday!ยฐ
    doing nothing and expecting nothing on days like birthdays is the best. the less you expect, the less you get dissapointed … the better you can get surprised, if something tiny but nice happens. …

    on my last birthday i moved house (town), people could just reach me via mobil phone for a few days. ha, the mobile broke! silence! actually it was totally great ….

    great, that you had a lovely day.

  11. Happy belated birthday from me too!

  12. nessbow says:

    I’m so glad you had a great day. You deserve it.

  13. Matilda says:

    belated happy birthday! so great to hear that this birthday was a good one ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

