Fabulous Hat Friday

Miss Fairchild - Lilly Dache

This fabulous hat is my very first hat by Lilly Dache. Lilly Dache is my hat icon. I don’t tend to love a lot of her hats, but admire her life and how she went from nothing to having a store on 5th avenue with 6 stories of millinery fabulousness. He book “Talking through my Hats” is my all time favourite autobiography.

Miss Fairchild - Lilly Dache

As far as I can tell “Dachettes” was a diffusion line by Lilly Dache. Probably for the younger crowd. Designed by her (but made by staff) and probably sold more mass market. This hat is a flat pattern (sewn), as opposed to blocked, hat of faux leopard fur and trimmed very simply with some black petersham ribbon. It’s a very simple hat and yet makes quite an impact. I wore it out to see the debut of Borsalino City at ACMI as part of the Virgin Australia Melbourne Fashion Festival.
Miss Fairchild - Lilly Dache I even won a prize for having such a fabulous hat! One of my favourite fashion documentaries by one of my all time favourite style icons “Diana Vreeland”.

And with that I leave you with a quote from Lilly Dache

“You see, a woman’s hat is close to her heart, though she wears it on her head. It is her way of saying to the world: “See, this is what I am like!” Or – “This is how I should like to be.”

-Lilly Dache

Miss Fairchild xoxo

This entry was posted in Fabulous Hat Friday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fabulous Hat Friday

  1. Natalie says:

    Ohh! That hat is gorgeous! I love the way it sits with the slant!

Leave a Reply

