Fabulous Hat Friday: Easter Edition

Easter Parade 1948

Judy Garland & Fred Astaire in Easter Parade

I am the only one who remembers Easter hat parades at school? In my first few years at primary school my best friend and my mum worked wonders. No paper hats for us. She came dressed as a frill necked lizard…and I went with another friend as Snugglepot & Cuddlepie – the gumnut babies (from an Australian series of childrens books by May Gibbs. It was full on costume for us. If only I could find the photos.

I wish there were still grown up Easter parades. I am always looking for an added excuse to don a fabulous hat.

Miss Fairchild xoxo

This entry was posted in Fabulous Hat Friday and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fabulous Hat Friday: Easter Edition

  1. David says:

    Here in Richmond, Virginia, we have an Easter Parade on Monument Ave.
    Some background. Richmond was the Capital of The Confederacy during the American Civil War. Post Civil War, when Richmond regained her wealth after her near total destruction, the city built a lovely residential avenue, where statuary of Confederate leaders are on display.
    Easter Sunday, the broad Monument Avenue median is the site of a rather fancy promenade where the creative adventurous and fun-loving show off their hats.

  2. David says:

    I love that wonderful movie, especially, “We’re a Couple of Swells”. That was Judy and Fred at their best. Thanks again for your delightful blog.

Leave a comment